top of page

Maya Plugin Unable to Load


Just a tip and reminder for myself too in future:

Problem:

Error: line 1:The specified module could not be found

Solution:

I often receive this problem in loading mental-ray plugin and I thought it might be mental-ray plugin's problem . But it is not 100% true . Even clearing preference doesn't resolves the problem . It use to pop the issue in the script editor as Error: line 1:The specified could not be found.

The simplest solution I found is editing/writing out Maya.env file in document(C:/Users/USERNAME/Documents/maya/20xx).

for my example the lines were :

MAYA_RENDER_DESC_PATH = C:/Program Files/Autodesk/mentalrayForMaya20xx/plug-ins PATH = %PATH%;C:/Program Files/Autodesk/mentalrayForMaya20xx/bin

This was mental-ray . In your case it can be Arnold/Redshift/Renderman etc. But solution is same plug-ins path and binary path.

Source of understanding:

bottom of page